EcomWatchdog

Benchmarks

Free shipping and returns: what 68 health and supplements stores offer

Checked November 2026 · 68 of 79 stores could be read

typical free-shipping minimum
$70
ship every order free
10%
most common return window
30 days
make the customer pay for returns
89%

Supplement brands are the strictest about returns: 89% of those whose policy says make the customer pay return shipping, more than in any other niche we measured.

The typical free-shipping minimum at health and supplements stores is $70, and half set it between $50 and $75. 10% ship every order free. Most give 30 days for returns, and 89% of those whose policy says leave return shipping to the customer.

Free-shipping minimums

36 stores offer free shipping above a minimum order. The lowest minimum was $30, the highest $200.

Under $505 stores
$50 to under $7513 stores
$75 to under $10013 stores
$100 to under $1502 stores
$150 or more3 stores

The typical (median) minimum is $70; the middle half of stores sit between $50 and $75.

Free shipping on every order

4 of the 40 stores whose shipping terms we could read (10%) ship every US order free, with no minimum.

Return windows

30 days is the most common window: 22 of the 48 stores that state one. 20 (42%) give longer than 30 days.

Who pays for returns

Of the 37 stores whose policy says, the customer pays for return shipping at 33 (89%), and returns are free at 1 (3%). The rest offer free returns only in some cases, such as exchanges or store credit.

How we collected this (show)
  • We read each store's homepage and its shipping and returns pages once, in November 2026, and recorded what it offers for standard shipping to the United States.
  • Offers only for members, subscribers, first orders, discount codes or a limited-time sale don't count as a store's free-shipping minimum.
  • Every figure comes with the store's own wording, and anything we couldn't match to it was left out.
  • Stores that block automated visits, or whose pages only work in a full browser, were skipped rather than worked around.
  • The stores are established direct-to-consumer brands, so the figures describe them rather than very small or brand-new shops.

How unclear cases were handled

  • One page, several countries: glossier.com lists its free-shipping minimum for about fifteen countries. Only the US one ($40+) was counted.
  • Offers for some shoppers only: free shipping for members, subscribers, first orders or with a code isn't counted as the store's minimum.
  • Amounts written differently: "25 USD", "$25.00" and "$2,000" are all read as amounts, and a window given in months is converted to days.
  • Returns: a window for refunds counts; one for exchanges only doesn't. Returns count as free only when the page says so: a "prepaid label" alone isn't enough, since its cost can come out of the refund.
  • Food and drink returns are left out: food usually can't be returned, and the windows these stores state are for equipment.
  • A figure we couldn't match to the store's own wording was left out rather than guessed. That's why some stores show "Not clear" or "Not stated".
The 79 stores, with sources (show)
StoreFree shippingReturnsReturn shippingSource
1stphorm.comOver $15030 daysCustomer paysPage
alaninu.comNot clear30 daysNot statedPage
amazinggrass.comOver $59.9930 daysCustomer paysPage
ancestralsupplements.comNot clear60 daysCustomer paysPage
bloomnu.comEvery order15 daysCustomer paysPage
cellucor.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
curednutrition.comOver $10030 daysCustomer paysPage
cymbiotika.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
doctorsbest.comOver $3060 daysNot statedPage
dosedaily.coEvery order30 daysNot statedPage
drinklmnt.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
elysiumhealth.comNot clearNot statedCustomer paysPage
gaiaherbs.comNot clear45 daysCustomer paysPage
ghostlifestyle.comNot clear15 daysCustomer paysPage
goli.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
gorillamind.comOver $7530 daysNot statedPage
gruns.coNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
guenergy.comOver $6460 daysCustomer paysPage
heartandsoil.coOver $100Not statedNot statedPage
hiyahealth.comEvery order10 daysNot statedPage
huel.comOver $65Not statedNot statedPage
jarrow.comOver $5960 daysNot statedPage
jockofuel.comOver $99Not statedCustomer paysPage
kachava.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
kos.comOver $7515 daysCustomer paysPage
legionathletics.comNot clear365 daysFree in some casesPage
lemmelive.comOver $50Not statedCustomer paysPage
liquid-iv.comNot clear60 daysNot statedPage
livemomentous.comOver $99Not statedCustomer paysPage
magicmind.comOver $200100 daysCustomer paysPage
manukora.comOver $75Not statedCustomer paysPage
maryruthorganics.comOver $9930 daysNot statedPage
megafood.comOver $5030 daysCustomer paysPage
moonjuice.comOver $6545 daysNot statedPage
mudwtr.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
myvega.comOver $75Not statedNot statedPage
nakednutrition.comOver $9910 daysCustomer paysPage
naturesbounty.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
naturesway.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
newchapter.comOver $5030 daysNot statedPage
nootropicsdepot.comOver $50Not statedNot statedPage
nutrafol.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
nutricost.comOver $5960 daysFree in some casesPage
nuunlife.comOver $45Not statedNot statedPage
ombre.comNot clear14 daysCustomer paysPage
optimumnutrition.comOver $7560 daysNot statedPage
orgain.comOver $7560 daysFreePage
paleovalley.comOver $75Not statedNot statedPage
perelelhealth.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
pescience.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
physicianschoice.comEvery order60 daysCustomer paysPage
questnutrition.comNot clear90 daysNot statedPage
ritual.comNot clear30 daysNot statedPage
rysesupps.comOver $15030 daysCustomer paysPage
shop.truvani.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
shopbeam.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
skratchlabs.comOver $59Not statedNot statedPage
smartypantsvitamins.comOver $49.9930 daysCustomer paysPage
sunwarrior.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
swansonvitamins.comNot clear100 daysCustomer paysPage
thorne.comNot clear60 daysCustomer paysPage
transparentlabs.comNot clear45 daysCustomer paysPage
ucan.coOver $7530 daysNot statedPage
us.foursigmatic.comOver $4945 daysFree in some casesPage
vegamour.comOver $5030 daysCustomer paysPage
vitafusion.comOver $7590 daysCustomer paysPage
vitalproteins.comOver $5030 daysNot statedPage
zhounutrition.comOver $3060 daysNot statedPage

Couldn't be used (11): arrae.com (could not be read), bulksupplements.com (could not be read), codeage.com (needs a full browser), isopure.com (no shipping or returns terms found), obvi.com (no shipping or returns terms found), olly.com (needs a full browser), onnit.com (needs a full browser), pendulumlife.com (no shipping or returns terms found), pureencapsulations.com (no shipping or returns terms found), seed.com (no shipping or returns terms found), thisisneeded.com (needs a full browser).

"Not clear" and "Not stated" mean the store's pages didn't say it plainly enough to count. Stores change their terms: each figure is as the store's page showed it when we checked.

Setting your own minimum? The free-shipping calculator works out the one that pays for itself.

Cite this data

You're welcome to use these figures in articles and reports, with a link to this page.

EcomWatchdog, "Supplement Shipping & Returns Benchmarks", November 2026. https://www.ecomwatchdog.com/benchmarks/health-and-supplements

Questions

What is a good free-shipping minimum for a health and supplements store?
$70 is typical in this niche, and most stores land between $50 and $75. The right one for you depends on your average order and margin: the free-shipping calculator works out the minimum that pays for itself.
How long do health and supplements stores give for returns?
30 days is the most common window (22 of 48 stores that state one), and 42% give longer than 30 days.
Which stores are included?
79 established online health and supplements brands selling in the US, of which 68 could be read. We don't name individual stores; the figures are what they publish on their own sites.
How current is this?
These figures are from November 2026. Stores change their offers, so treat them as a guide rather than today's exact numbers.

Want to know when your own health and supplements competitors change their free-shipping minimum or start a sale? EcomWatchdog emails you when they do.

Start your free trial

Other niches