EcomWatchdog

Benchmarks

Free shipping and returns: what 55 jewelry and accessories stores offer

Checked November 2026 · 55 of 70 stores could be read

typical free-shipping minimum
$98
ship every order free
21%
most common return window
30 days
make the customer pay for returns
63%

Jewelry is split down the middle: exactly half of the stores set a minimum under $100, while 9 of 26 ask $150 or more.

The typical free-shipping minimum at jewelry and accessories stores is $98, and half set it between $75 and $150. 21% ship every order free. Most give 30 days for returns, and 63% of those whose policy says leave return shipping to the customer.

Free-shipping minimums

26 stores offer free shipping above a minimum order. The lowest minimum was $50, the highest $750.

Under $500 stores
$50 to under $755 stores
$75 to under $1008 stores
$100 to under $1504 stores
$150 or more9 stores

The typical (median) minimum is $98; the middle half of stores sit between $75 and $150.

Free shipping on every order

7 of the 33 stores whose shipping terms we could read (21%) ship every US order free, with no minimum.

Return windows

30 days is the most common window: 26 of the 46 stores that state one. 9 (20%) give longer than 30 days.

Who pays for returns

Of the 40 stores whose policy says, the customer pays for return shipping at 25 (63%), and returns are free at 7 (18%). The rest offer free returns only in some cases, such as exchanges or store credit.

How we collected this (show)
  • We read each store's homepage and its shipping and returns pages once, in November 2026, and recorded what it offers for standard shipping to the United States.
  • Offers only for members, subscribers, first orders, discount codes or a limited-time sale don't count as a store's free-shipping minimum.
  • Every figure comes with the store's own wording, and anything we couldn't match to it was left out.
  • Stores that block automated visits, or whose pages only work in a full browser, were skipped rather than worked around.
  • The stores are established direct-to-consumer brands, so the figures describe them rather than very small or brand-new shops.

How unclear cases were handled

  • One page, several countries: glossier.com lists its free-shipping minimum for about fifteen countries. Only the US one ($40+) was counted.
  • Offers for some shoppers only: free shipping for members, subscribers, first orders or with a code isn't counted as the store's minimum.
  • Amounts written differently: "25 USD", "$25.00" and "$2,000" are all read as amounts, and a window given in months is converted to days.
  • Returns: a window for refunds counts; one for exchanges only doesn't. Returns count as free only when the page says so: a "prepaid label" alone isn't enough, since its cost can come out of the refund.
  • Food and drink returns are left out: food usually can't be returned, and the windows these stores state are for equipment.
  • A figure we couldn't match to the store's own wording was left out rather than guessed. That's why some stores show "Not clear" or "Not stated".
The 70 stores, with sources (show)
StoreFree shippingReturnsReturn shippingSource
analuisa.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
astridandmiyu.comEvery order28 daysNot statedPage
auratenewyork.comNot clear14 daysFreePage
awaytravel.comNot clear100 daysFree in some casesPage
beistravel.comOver $14045 daysCustomer paysPage
bellroy.comEvery orderNot statedNot statedPage
blenderseyewear.comOver $6045 daysFreePage
bonheurjewelry.comOver $1507 daysCustomer paysPage
brilliantearth.comEvery orderNot statedNot statedPage
caitlynminimalist.comEvery order14 daysCustomer paysPage
calpaktravel.comOver $7530 daysCustomer paysPage
catbirdnyc.comNot clear20 daysCustomer paysPage
cuyana.comOver $95Not statedCustomer paysPage
dagnedover.comOver $10030 daysCustomer paysPage
danielwellington.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
edgeofember.comOver $15030 daysCustomer paysPage
felixgray.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
gldn.comOver $15030 daysFree in some casesPage
goodr.comOver $6030 daysNot statedPage
gorjana.comOver $15030 daysNot statedPage
jamesavery.comEvery order365 daysFreePage
jaxxon.comNot clear30 daysNot statedPage
kinnstudio.comEvery order10 daysCustomer paysPage
knockaround.comOver $5045 daysFree in some casesPage
liliclaspe.comNot clear14 daysCustomer paysPage
loandsons.comOver $250Not statedCustomer paysPage
lunaskye.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
mejuri.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
miansai.comOver $15030 daysCustomer paysPage
missoma.comNot clear90 daysCustomer paysPage
mvmt.comOver $75Not statedFreePage
nixon.comNot clear30 daysNot statedPage
nomadgoods.comOver $5030 daysCustomer paysPage
peakdesign.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
pelacase.comOver $8530 daysCustomer paysPage
pitviper.comOver $6930 daysFreePage
quay.comOver $7530 daysNot statedPage
rains.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
ridge.comNot clear99 daysNot statedPage
ringconcierge.comNot clear30 daysFree in some casesPage
saddlebackleather.comNot clear30 daysFree in some casesPage
sarahchloe.comOver $10010 daysCustomer paysPage
shinola.comOver $12530 daysFree in some casesPage
sterlingforever.comOver $20060 daysFree in some casesPage
stevemadden.comNot clear30 daysCustomer paysPage
studs.comOver $7521 daysFree in some casesPage
sunski.comOver $7530 daysNot statedPage
themjewelersny.comNot clear14 daysCustomer paysPage
timex.comOver $40030 daysCustomer paysPage
tumi.comNot clearNot statedNot statedPage
vincerocollective.comNot clear365 daysCustomer paysPage
vitalydesign.comOver $8530 daysNot statedPage
vrai.comNot clear30 daysFreePage
warbyparker.comEvery order30 daysFreePage
zoechicco.comOver $75010 daysCustomer paysPage

Couldn't be used (15): abbottlyon.com (could not be read), alexandani.com (could not be read), baublebar.com (could not be read), bryananthonys.com (needs a full browser), diffeyewear.com (needs a full browser), dogeared.com (needs a full browser), ettika.com (could not be read), herschel.com (needs a full browser), heyharper.com (could not be read), monos.com (could not be read), nordgreen.com (could not be read), polene-paris.com (no shipping or returns terms found), puravidabracelets.com (could not be read), taijewelry.com (needs a full browser), uncommonjames.com (could not be read).

"Not clear" and "Not stated" mean the store's pages didn't say it plainly enough to count. Stores change their terms: each figure is as the store's page showed it when we checked.

Setting your own minimum? The free-shipping calculator works out the one that pays for itself.

Cite this data

You're welcome to use these figures in articles and reports, with a link to this page.

EcomWatchdog, "Jewelry Shipping & Returns Benchmarks", November 2026. https://www.ecomwatchdog.com/benchmarks/jewelry-and-accessories

Questions

What is a good free-shipping minimum for a jewelry and accessories store?
$98 is typical in this niche, and most stores land between $75 and $150. The right one for you depends on your average order and margin: the free-shipping calculator works out the minimum that pays for itself.
How long do jewelry and accessories stores give for returns?
30 days is the most common window (26 of 46 stores that state one), and 20% give longer than 30 days.
Which stores are included?
70 established online jewelry and accessories brands selling in the US, of which 55 could be read. We don't name individual stores; the figures are what they publish on their own sites.
How current is this?
These figures are from November 2026. Stores change their offers, so treat them as a guide rather than today's exact numbers.

Want to know when your own jewelry and accessories competitors change their free-shipping minimum or start a sale? EcomWatchdog emails you when they do.

Start your free trial

Other niches