EcomWatchdog

Benchmarks

Free shipping: what 40 food, coffee and drinks stores offer

Checked November 2026 · 40 of 47 stores could be read

typical free-shipping minimum
$50
ship every order free
0%
stores checked
40

Not one of the 21 food and drink stores with clear shipping terms ships every order free. Expect to need a minimum here.

The typical free-shipping minimum at food, coffee and drinks stores is $50, and half set it between $40 and $75. 0% ship every order free.

Free-shipping minimums

21 stores offer free shipping above a minimum order. The lowest minimum was $30, the highest $200.

Under $508 stores
$50 to under $756 stores
$75 to under $1004 stores
$100 to under $1501 store
$150 or more2 stores

The typical (median) minimum is $50; the middle half of stores sit between $40 and $75.

Free shipping on every order

0 of the 21 stores whose shipping terms we could read (0%) ship every US order free, with no minimum.

Returns

Not measured for this niche: food and drink usually can't be returned, and the return windows stores state are for equipment rather than food.

How we collected this (show)
  • We read each store's homepage and its shipping and returns pages once, in November 2026, and recorded what it offers for standard shipping to the United States.
  • Offers only for members, subscribers, first orders, discount codes or a limited-time sale don't count as a store's free-shipping minimum.
  • Every figure comes with the store's own wording, and anything we couldn't match to it was left out.
  • Stores that block automated visits, or whose pages only work in a full browser, were skipped rather than worked around.
  • The stores are established direct-to-consumer brands, so the figures describe them rather than very small or brand-new shops.

How unclear cases were handled

  • One page, several countries: glossier.com lists its free-shipping minimum for about fifteen countries. Only the US one ($40+) was counted.
  • Offers for some shoppers only: free shipping for members, subscribers, first orders or with a code isn't counted as the store's minimum.
  • Amounts written differently: "25 USD", "$25.00" and "$2,000" are all read as amounts, and a window given in months is converted to days.
  • Returns: a window for refunds counts; one for exchanges only doesn't. Returns count as free only when the page says so: a "prepaid label" alone isn't enough, since its cost can come out of the refund.
  • Food and drink returns are left out: food usually can't be returned, and the windows these stores state are for equipment.
  • A figure we couldn't match to the store's own wording was left out rather than guessed. That's why some stores show "Not clear" or "Not stated".
The 47 stores, with sources (show)
StoreFree shippingSource
artoftea.comOver $60Page
atlascoffeeclub.comNot clearPage
brightland.coOver $120Page
burlapandbarrel.comNot clearPage
chamberlaincoffee.comNot clearPage
chomps.comOver $30Page
cometeer.comNot clearPage
compartes.comOver $99Page
counterculturecoffee.comOver $30Page
deathwishcoffee.comOver $50Page
diasporaco.comOver $75Page
drinkhint.comNot clearPage
drinkolipop.comOver $50Page
drinktrade.comOver $30Page
eatbanza.comNot clearPage
eatfishwife.comOver $75Page
flybyjing.comOver $75Page
goodles.comNot clearPage
graza.coNot clearPage
harney.comOver $59Page
hukitchen.comNot clearPage
intelligentsia.comOver $49Page
javvycoffee.comNot clearPage
kettleandfire.comNot clearPage
kingarthurbaking.comNot clearPage
kombuchatown.comNot clearPage
lairdsuperfood.comOver $70Page
liquiddeath.comNot clearPage
magicspoon.comNot clearPage
mezzetta.comOver $200Page
middaysquares.comNot clearPage
onyxcoffeelab.comOver $40Page
partakefoods.comOver $50Page
partnerscoffee.comOver $40Page
perfectsnacks.comNot clearPage
smartsweets.comNot clearPage
snakeriverfarms.comOver $199Page
stumptowncoffee.comOver $45Page
tonyschocolonely.comNot clearPage
vervecoffee.comOver $35Page

Couldn't be used (7): athleticbrewing.com (could not be read), blackriflecoffee.com (could not be read), bluebottlecoffee.com (could not be read), equatorcoffees.com (needs a full browser), lacolombe.com (needs a full browser), lesserevil.com (could not be read), sightglasscoffee.com (needs a full browser).

"Not clear" and "Not stated" mean the store's pages didn't say it plainly enough to count. Stores change their terms: each figure is as the store's page showed it when we checked.

Setting your own minimum? The free-shipping calculator works out the one that pays for itself. For more on this niche, read Tracking coffee and kitchen competitors.

Cite this data

You're welcome to use these figures in articles and reports, with a link to this page.

EcomWatchdog, "Food & Drink Shipping Benchmarks", November 2026. https://www.ecomwatchdog.com/benchmarks/food-coffee-and-drinks

Questions

What is a good free-shipping minimum for a food, coffee and drinks store?
$50 is typical in this niche, and most stores land between $40 and $75. The right one for you depends on your average order and margin: the free-shipping calculator works out the minimum that pays for itself.
Which stores are included?
47 established online food, coffee and drinks brands selling in the US, of which 40 could be read. We don't name individual stores; the figures are what they publish on their own sites.
How current is this?
These figures are from November 2026. Stores change their offers, so treat them as a guide rather than today's exact numbers.

Want to know when your own food, coffee and drinks competitors change their free-shipping minimum or start a sale? EcomWatchdog emails you when they do.

Start your free trial

Other niches